This small square located in the historical town centre of Conselice was recently named after the writer Giovannino Guareschi (the author of Don Camillo and Peppone’s stories). The square has been restored by the set designer Gino Pellegrini, who is renown for his top-level experience in the Hollywood cinema industry.
The stronghold of Lugo is a remarkable specimen of its kind, especially because in Romagna fortresses used to characterize and mark the developement of hurban settlements since the second part of the Middle Ages. But the most important period of Lugo’s stronghold...
The ‘Palazzo dei Contadini’ (farmers’ palace) was restored in 1998 and is now a multipurpose cultural centre, popularly know as "Ca di cuntaden", in the local dialect.
The present town hall (the Palazzo Comunale) has always been a public building and is thought to be as old as the castle (sec. XI), to which it was attached, as the Napoleonic land registers state in 1800.
The clock tower was built where the old Medieval castle gateway used to be since it was founded around the early centuries after 1000, probably upon Barbarossa’s wish, as some documents state. The same old documents report that the castle was surrounded by very strong walls and a deep moat called "la Fossa" (the moat). What is thought to be left of the old castle is probably just one of the two towers, which was thereafter transformed into the clock tower, before 1377.
The “Istituto Storico della Resistenza” of Ravenna (the historical institute of resistance) was created in 1961 by Arrigo Boldrini and Benigno Zaccagnini; both had participated in the fight for liberation. Todat the institute is based in the town of Alfonsine.
The votive urn located in the central square, piazza Calcagnini, celebrates the marquis Marchese Celio Calcagnini, a nobleman belonging to one of the most important local families.
The "Caio Vario" funeral stele was found in 1817 nearby Cotignola.
The tower was built around 1370.